No, Really? You Think?

I’m no fan of CNN’s Cafferty, but when I saw this entry at the top of WordPress’ main page, I had to click.

NO!  FOR REALZ?  You mean the Credit Industry doesn’t want to reward people who are good credit risks?  SHOCK!  They only like people who are dead beats that can’t seem to ever pay off their cards?  WHAT?

Over the past few weeks I’ve been amazed at the companies sending me notices about cutting my credit and canceling it.  Now, let me first say, I loath Credit Cards.  I use them solely for occasional HUGE purchases and Internet orders.*  I have 0 (ZERO, NADA, ZIP, ZILCH) credit card debt.  I pay everything off post haste. 

Yet, I’m too great a credit risk it seems.  Letter after letter telling me that accounts will be, and in one case HAS BEEN, closed tells me that these companies don’t want people with good credit histories anywhere near them.  Odd?  I would have thought that good credit usage was a good thing.  Evidently not. 

But then again most things that are the lynch pins of rampant consumerism confuse the hell out of me.  The FICO, new models of widgets being obsolete before they hit the showroom floor, TV Commercials designed to make me feel scared/unsettled/needful, and things of that nature never seem to compute in my mind.  So why should this be any different.  “Hmm… There’s too much bad debt on our books so let’s lower the number of people with good credit that we have!  YES!”

Please understand, I know WHY they do these things.  I have had more than a couple of Econ classes.  I just never thought it was particularly good business.  It eventually catches up to you.  If you only encourage gross misuse of credit, then you wind up with, TADA, a credit crisis.  You end up with more and more people unable to pay and more and more bankruptcies.  GOOD.  I hope Bank of America and Chase and every damn one of those predatorial giants takes a hit.   

Moreover, I hope people finally realize that life DOESN’T take Visa and a zero balance with MasterCard is priceless.

And if you sense that I’ve drunk freely of the Dave Ramsey Kool-Aid, you would be right.

*I’ll be stopping both of those practices, starting NOW.     
0 Responses to “No, Really? You Think?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Dante…

Conservative, educated, understands history, distrusts government, distrusts politicians, dislikes pop-culture, and carries a firearm. In short, I'm what The Framers of The Constitution were counting on and everything your government wants you to fear most.

The only thing I don’t have to complain about is some GI taking up space in my living room. I’ll let you know about the Civil Courts if someone ever owes more than $20 to me. ---If you didn’t get that one; sue your Civics or US History Teacher.


Your shortcut to Acute Dyspepsia
Any Spelling, Grammatical, or Typographic errors are the result of my keyboard, public school Elementary education, or Secret Government Ninjas and not fault of the author and his flying through his posts at lunch time. If you see any errors, ping me and I will correct them. Ping me often enough, and I will make you my editor.
dantes firing range -A T- hotmail.com
Remove the spaces and convert the -AT- to... you know the drill. In VB Script that's: Value = replace (replace ("dantes firing range -A T- hotmail.com", " ",""), "-AT-", chr(64))

For The Record


