*sigh* But I still want one. Plus My Addition To The Meme

This post made me have a moment of warm fuzzy.

The much maligned AR-7.  A terrible gun.  Horrible.  Probably the WORST gun I ever owned.  It was destroyed in the Allison Flood of ought one (a couple of days underwater and 2 weeks un-found in the messy mayhem will do that to a gun that starts out life as a POS!).  But… my dad gave it too me.  And I want another one.  There just always seems to be other things I need to get first. 

It can’t be the Henry version.  It just seems wrong somehow.  Maybe it’s its plastic front sight and barrel nut?  

But some day, I’ll be walking into a pawnshop or a gun show and there will be an old one.  A little beat up.  But not sporterized.  Not Bubba-tized.  Just an old neglected POS that I’m going to pay too much for, for a brief memory of my dad handing me my first gun.  *sigh*

Edited: The quote, “A 10/22 has more accessories than a teenaged transgendered schizophrenic.”  OMG!  Milk though nose funny!

As to my addition to the meme started here and fanned by Tam here, I would like to submit for your approval the Uberti 1847 Walker replica

Pros:
-Being able to pretend you are a Texas Ranger or The Outlaw Josey Wales.
-Getting together with other black power shooters and doing Volley Fire the way God intended. *coughhackweez*
-When you are out of bullets, you can use it as a bludgeoning weapon. 
-Being able to order it through the mail.
-At almost 16″, you can keep you enemy at greater standoff distances just by waving it around

Cons
-Try shooting Black Powder at an indoor range.
-Not exactly tailored for concealed carry.
-Bulk Black Powder is a might explodey.
-HEAVY!

And one more from Uberti.  Probably a better candidate too.  The 1873 Revolver Carbine

Pros
-It screams SteamPunk cool.
-.45 Long Colt has got some nice punch.
-Lighter than the Walker!
-Guaranteed to have gawkers at the range.

Cons
-Ergonomics that make a Glock feel good.
-How far away is that cylinder gap from your face?
-For the same scratch you can get a lever gun that does more plus some ammo for practice.
-Watch that left hand.  Fight the impulse to hold it like a normal “rifle”.

0 Responses to “*sigh* But I still want one. Plus My Addition To The Meme”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Dante…

Conservative, educated, understands history, distrusts government, distrusts politicians, dislikes pop-culture, and carries a firearm. In short, I'm what The Framers of The Constitution were counting on and everything your government wants you to fear most.

The only thing I don’t have to complain about is some GI taking up space in my living room. I’ll let you know about the Civil Courts if someone ever owes more than $20 to me. ---If you didn’t get that one; sue your Civics or US History Teacher.


Your shortcut to Acute Dyspepsia
Any Spelling, Grammatical, or Typographic errors are the result of my keyboard, public school Elementary education, or Secret Government Ninjas and not fault of the author and his flying through his posts at lunch time. If you see any errors, ping me and I will correct them. Ping me often enough, and I will make you my editor.
dantes firing range -A T- hotmail.com
Remove the spaces and convert the -AT- to... you know the drill. In VB Script that's: Value = replace (replace ("dantes firing range -A T- hotmail.com", " ",""), "-AT-", chr(64))

For The Record


