Dry Fire Surprise.

I have a few extra minutes before my next client call so I figure with my other issues put to bed, I’ll take 10 to do a some dry firing exercises to try and work out the wicked milking action I developed after wrist surgery. 

Grab Laser sighted Ruger LCR. 
Grab Snap Caps.
Insert Snap Caps.
*Click*
*Click*
*Click*
*DRAAAG-Click*

“WTF!”

*Click*
*Click*
*Click*
*Click*
*DRAAAG-Click*

“Crap!” 

I’m not really wanting this gun to take a trip home just yet.  She’s so young! 

I pull out the snap caps and, against all that is holy and what’s been taught to me about hammer driven firing pins, I give the gun 5 trigger pulls.  No drag. 

Hmmm… I look at the dummy rounds and sure as sh*t in a pasture, two of the caps (one being used and one in the box) have the brass inset raised noticeably. 

I don’t remember the dummy rounds dragging on my S&W Model 65. I take them over to my model 65. 

*Click*
*Click*
*Click*
*Click*
*Click*
*Click*

Hmmm… Sure enough, there’s a larger gap in the 65?  Is that just design? 

Does it have to do with the fact the 65 shoots .357 and needs more room?  Does it need more room for expansion as well?

Dig out Modern Reloading (I don’t reload for .38/.357 yet).  Oh look.  .357 mag has a .060” Base and the .38 special has a .059” one.  So my .357 would need a slightly bigger head space (Is it still called head space on a wheel gun?) to allow for both the base and expansion of the hotter round.  I learned something new.  HAZAH!

A good hammering latter and all snap caps are flush.  Back to drills.  I still have that damn milk.  And with the laser sight, I can see how damn bad it is.  *sigh*.  Oh well.  More work to do.

2 Responses to “Dry Fire Surprise.”


  1. 1 George March 5, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    Your assessment on the model 65 is correct. I wish I still had mine. It was a 3″ round butt, and I shot it in IPSC with full loads, 25 years ago.

    • 2 dantesfiringrange March 6, 2010 at 1:40 am

      Mine, too, is the 3″ Round Butt. Bought it recently (last 2 years?) from a shop out of Dallas that was selling a job lot of Cali Dept. of Corrections guns. It’s the perfect fit for a home defense hand gun. Not too long, not to short. Powerful round. And in a pinch, a weighty butt stroker.

      My only complaint is I didn’t buy a second one at the price. 😦


Leave a Reply

Dante…

Conservative, educated, understands history, distrusts government, distrusts politicians, dislikes pop-culture, and carries a firearm. In short, I'm what The Framers of The Constitution were counting on and everything your government wants you to fear most.

The only thing I don’t have to complain about is some GI taking up space in my living room. I’ll let you know about the Civil Courts if someone ever owes more than $20 to me. ---If you didn’t get that one; sue your Civics or US History Teacher.


Your shortcut to Acute Dyspepsia
Any Spelling, Grammatical, or Typographic errors are the result of my keyboard, public school Elementary education, or Secret Government Ninjas and not fault of the author and his flying through his posts at lunch time. If you see any errors, ping me and I will correct them. Ping me often enough, and I will make you my editor.
dantes firing range -A T- hotmail.com
Remove the spaces and convert the -AT- to... you know the drill. In VB Script that's: Value = replace (replace ("dantes firing range -A T- hotmail.com", " ",""), "-AT-", chr(64))

For The Record


